Materials Archive

The Workshops

The Workshops in Geometric Topology are a series of informal research conferences that have been held each year since 1984. Most have been partially supported by grants from the National Science Foundation. Previous workshops have been sponsored by Oregon State University, the Colorado College, Brigham Young University, Calvin College, the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee, and Texas Christian University.

Each workshop features a series of three lectures by one principal speaker. This format allows the speaker to give a substantial introduction to an area of current research in geometric topology.

Participants are invited to contribute talks on their own research; time is allotted each day for short talks by participants. In addition, there is ample time set aside each day for informal interactions between participants.

All previous workshops are listed below. Click on recent locations to see the websites for those workshops.

Year Workshop Location Principal Speaker Archival Materials
2023 40th Colorado College Andy Putman Videos of principal lectures on the "The topology of the moduli space of curves"
2022 39th Held online Jessica Purcell All talks from the workshop can be found on a playlist on our YouTube channel
2021 38th Held online Peter Bubenik All talks from the workshop can be found on a playlist on our YouTube channel
2020 37th Workshop cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2019 36th University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  Ciprian Manolescu Problem Session Notes
2018 35th Calvin College András Stipsicz
2017 34th Provo, Utah (BYU) Moon Duchin
2016 33rd Colorado College Nathan Dunfield
2015 32nd Texas Christian University Wolfgang Lück
2014 31st University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  Kevin Whyte
2013 30th Calvin College Pedro Ontaneda
2012 29th Oregon State University Benson Farb
2011 28th Park City Utah (BYU) David Gabai
2010 27th Colorado College Robert Ghrist
2009 26th University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  Mladen Bestvina
2008 25th Park City, Utah (BYU) Cameron Gordon
2007 24th Calvin College Ian Agol
2006 23rd Oregon State University Ruth Charney
2005 22nd Colorado College Thomas Farrell
2004 21st University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Peter Teichner Workshop Proceedings
2003 20th Brigham Young University Martin Bridson Workshop Proceedings
2002 19th Calvin College Alexander Dranishnikov Workshop Proceedings
2001 18th Oregon State University Abigail Thompson Workshop Proceedings
2000 17th Colorado College Robert Gompf Workshop Proceedings
1999 16th University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Robert Edwards Workshop Proceedings
1998 15th Park City Utah (B.Y.U) Steve Ferry Workshop Proceedings
1997 14th Oregon State University James Cannon Workshop Proceedings
1996 13th Colorado College Michael Freedman Workshop Proceedings
1995 12th University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Shmuel Weinberger Workshop Proceedings
1994 11th Brigham Young University Michael Davis Workshop Proceedings
1993 10th Newport, Oregon (O.S.U.) John Bryant Workshop Proceedings
1992 9th Colorado College Mladen Bestvina Workshop Proceedings
1991 8th University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Andrew Casson Workshop Proceedings
1990 7th Oregon State University Robert Daverman Workshop Proceedings
1989 6th Brigham Young University John Luecke Workshop Proceedings
1988 5th Colorado College John Hempel Workshop Proceedings
1987 4th Oregon State University Robert Edwards Workshop Proceedings
1986 3rd Colorado College John Walsh Workshop Proceedings
1985 2nd Colorado College Robert Daverman
1984 1st Brigham Young University none Workshop Proceedings

Please contact Greg Friedman (send email) if you have questions about the conference or comments on this web site.