About Prof. Griffiths

Professor Phillip Griffiths of the Institute for Advanced Study has long been recognized as one of the world's foremost experts in the field of geometry, especially for the complex manifold approach to algebraic geometry. Among many other things, his research on algebraic cycles and variation of Hodge structures opened new vistas to research. His outstanding work, beginning in the 1960s, has earned him numerous prizes and honors, among them the prestigious Wolf Prize (jointly in 2008 with P. Deligne and D. Mumford), the Brower Prize in 2008 by the Dutch Mathematical Society, and the Leroy Steele Prize by the American Mathematical Society. He has been elected to both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Griffiths received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1962 and since has held positions at the University of California, Berkeley (1962-1967); Princeton University (1967-1972); Harvard University (1972-1983); Duke University (1983-1991, where he was Provost and the James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics); and the Institute for Advanced Study (1991 to the present, where he was Director until 2003). Dr. Griffiths has directed 43 Ph.D. students at these various institutions. Selections of his work was collected in four volumes in 2003 by the American Mathematical Society.

Dr. Griffiths is an excellent expositor and is senior author of several well-known books, among them the highly regarded textbook Principles of Algebraic Geometry (co-authored with Joseph Harris). These books have been instrumental in the education of generations of geometers over the past thirty years. The CBMS monograph resulting from Professor Griffith's lectures on Hodge theory, complex geometry, and representation theory is expected to continue this rich tradition.

Please send comments about this web site to Greg Friedman - g.friedman@tcu.edu.